Coquet and Coast Forum
Don't forget to check out our sister site: Amble and District

Go Back   Coquet and Coast Forum > Intro Zone and General topics > New member zone

We no longer use activation emails. Please allow 24h after sign up and your account should work

Old 12-08-2013, 08:57 PM

Default Newbie here

Hello all, i stumbled upon this site whilst looking for info on the Darling lighthouse keeper. I'm from Amble and my family have a long history here on both sides.

We have a picture that we are trying to trace, a quick assessment is that it is of Grace Darlings Nephew who worked on a merchant boat. My Grandfather remembers his grandmother passing it down along with a pistol. (I will attach a photo later). He is Ted Roland (Butchers) and his Grandmother was Jinny (Jane Roland-nee Darling) he was always under the impression it was GDs Uncle but I dont think it is.

Ive been scanning through the site and found some fascinating photographs and snippets of information. Well done to all for contributing and I hope to read more soon. I love all the old pictures and maps. We have a few up in our shop on Queen St if anyone is interested in seeing more historic photos.
Old 12-08-2013, 09:34 PM

Hi Carl, welcome to the site. Roland the butcher has been a bit of an institution in Amble A Job Horsley Darling, who would have been Grace's nephew was a merchant seaman.
Old 13-08-2013, 11:25 AM
Administrator

Hi Carl, welcome to the forum! Looking forward to seeing any pictures you have
Old 13-08-2013, 12:28 PM

http://www.flickr.com/x/t/0098009/ph...37/9502665600/
Old 13-08-2013, 06:31 PM
Administrator

Do you know what the photographic process is? Daguerreotype / Ambrotype ? they seem to be popular in very specific periods which might help narrow it down date wise.
Old 13-08-2013, 08:54 PM